Sock Madness

Last week, the first day of spring brought a lot of promise that warm weather was heading to upstate New York. That morning we awoke to rain and most of the snow had melted during the night. Of course it was only 33 F outside so walkways were icy, but it was a nice change from the blistering cold that consumed our winter.

Yay, geese!

The geese returning north was another welcoming sign that spring is heading our way! 😀

Of course that spring feeling didn’t last long. The very next morning we had a blanket if snow covering the ground. The look on my sons was one of bewilderment and heartbreak all at the same time. He turned to me and said “but mom yesterday was spring!”, poor kid.

Since things are still cold around here I have been inspired to finish up some socks I have had on the needles, so that I can start on more socks! 😀

In January I had decided to start knitting a pair of worsted weight socks for my son to wear when he was ice skating. Of course I had good intentions of finishing them during prime ice skating season, but they have been lying about missing one toe and two heels. when I picked them back up last week I was amazed at how quickly they were finished.!  🙂Worsted Weight Socks

These are knit with Paton classic wool in the Lemongrass colorway. I just love how bright they are!

Also languishing on the needles had been a Nagini sock that I had cast on way back in July!

I am not very satisfied by how this sock turned out, which could very well be the reason I stopped knitting on it. The sock is knit toe up, which isn’t my favorite way to knit a sock but I have had successful results in the past with this method.
When I found the sock the heel and heel flap was already knit I just had to knit the leg and cuff. When I tried it on afterward I noticed that the sock is more than an inch longer then my foot. 😦

Nagini Socks

To frog or not frog, that is the question.

If the only problem with my Nagini socks was that is was too big then it would be easily solved by gifting them to someone with larger feet. However, the real problem is now that I have it finished I can’t seem to find the other sock, which I am almost positive I had already knit and finished eons ago. Or the other skein of yarn to knit the second sock in the event that my memory is completely failing me, sigh!  Well at least I have one sock done in the event the other one decides to show up. 😛

Until then it is on to a new pair of socks! 😉

4 responses to “Sock Madness

  1. I so feel the pain of waiting for a spring that doesn’t want to commit. I have also been looking at that sock knitting pile of mine and thinking that I have to finish that second knee sock. I am sooooo close to finishing the pair. You are inspiring me to pull open those project bags. Maybe I can finish before Monday. . . . .

    • Yay! I am so glad that I have inspired you to possibly pick up your socks in progress! Knowing I am not alone with lingering sock projects has made my day! I will be keeping a look out for your socks on your blog. 🙂

  2. Well, what do you know, I do believe that those socks (er…sock, for now) are my Cinderella “glass slippers”. Big-footed sister will gladly accept! Haha.

Leave a Reply

