Elefante

Last week I mentioned that the month of February was going to be mostly baby knits, and I have finished my first baby project for the month. Shortly after posing last week I cast on for Elefante by Susan B. Anderson, using size 3 dpns (double pointed needles). I used an array of worsted weight acrylic yarn.

Working with stripes is a challenge especially when knitting in the round. Often the stripes don’t line up exactly where they join. I tried to use the jogless stripe technique (the tutorial I used can be found here) and I think it turned out alright.

Body of elefante (work in progress)

You can still see where the stripes join but not as noticeable as if I hadn’t used the jogless striping technique.

Everything was going great until I was almost done with the head of the elephant and my boy friend points out that if it is supposed to be an elephant shouldn’t it have a long trunk. After taking a good look at it I had to agree it looked more like a pig snout then a trunk. I reread the directions and noticed I overlooked a tiny part in the directions that said – continue knitting until trunk measures 1 1/2″. 😦

Of course I frogged and re knit the head. Better to redo your mistakes then to hate the finished project, even though I had thought about leavening it the way it was. 😛

Side profile of the elefante.

Side view of elefante.

 

front view of elefante

The elefante is all finished! Ends weaved in and all!! 🙂

I still have to order the yarn for the other projects that I had planned on doing this month. Which left me with nothing to knit! :-O So I spent a good part of the night last night looking for a baby pattern that I could do, while waiting, with yarn I had on hand.

I decided on knitting a Baby Sophisticate sweater by Linden Down. This is a free pattern on Ravelry and has been knitted than 4,400 times! I have just cast on today using red heart yarn in heather grey. I am also ordering buttons now, hoping they will arrive around the time the sweater is done. 🙂

 

 

3 responses to “Elefante

  1. I love your baby elephant. He came out super cute. I started the Baby Sophisticate sweater a bit ago, it is an easy knit, but set it aside to whip up Christmas presents, and now I amnot sure it will fit anymore. Iwill be ripping it out and making it bigger. Can’t wait to see how yours comes out.

  2. Oh he’s so cute! He’s definitely on my “to knit” list!

Leave a Reply

