Sheepish Sophisticate

As April blows in so does the urgency of finishing up the baby knits I started in February. My sister’s baby shower is this coming Saturday.  It didn’t hit me exactly how close it was until I sat down Easter night to relax and I pulled out my new In Threes project that I cast on the night before.

I quickly put aside the cardigan and went to get the Baby Sophisticate Sweater that I knit several weeks ago.  The only thing I had left to finish on it was to sew on the buttons and add the legs to the sheep applique.  I ordered the buttons from Etsy. The name of the shop is Forbeadin’ Treasures, there is a lot of cute buttons to check out.

Sheepy buttons

I used the same technique to sew on the buttons as I did for the Hungry Caterpillar In Threes Cardigan.

For the legs of the sheep applique I used the duplicate stitch, which is a new technique for me. I can’t say that I am absolutely thrilled with the way the duplicate stitch came out. Yet at the same time I don’t hate the results either. I am sure that, like most things, the more I use the technique the better the results will be.

Sheepish Sophisticate

From a distance the misshapen duplicate stitch is hardly noticeable. :-)

I paired the sweater with a pair of longies, that I had made after I first found out that my sister was expecting. As well as a pair of lamb booties that I recently finished up the seaming on.

Sheepish Outfit

I think the set goes really well together. :-D.

I am hoping to sew together the elephant blanket in the next day or two. I am a little disappointed that I didn’t get to all the projects I had planned to make for the shower, but I at the same time I am thrilled with the ones that I did get to. :-D

 

 

7 responses to “Sheepish Sophisticate

  1. The ribbon method of reinforcing a button band is really smart! I’ll have to use that on some of the sweaters I have planned for the next few months. And the sheep theme is super cute. :)

  2. Perfect buttons. Lovely baby shower gift!

  3. Oh my, these are cute!

  4. I have nominated your blog for a Leibster Blog Award as I love your ideas. Find out more here http://ejmcrafts.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/an-award-moi/

  5. SHUT THE FRONT DOOR! I am dying from cuteness overload! This is wonderful.

  6. This is such a cute set. I am in love with your button choice (and totally stealing the ribbon-for-attaching-buttons idea)!

  7. This is so cute!

    I also just wanted to stop by and let you know that I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award ❤ I really enjoy reading your blog, so I think that you deserve it!
    To receive it, just go to the post where I’ve nominated you – http://catrionabarr.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/an-amazing-present-a-blog-award/ and follow the rules (it’s not too difficult!) to start spreading some more sweetness of your own :)
    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

